Westwood Foundation

The Westwood Foundation Mission Statement is as follows:

The Westwood Foundation, a 501(c)3 organization, was founded in 1974 to provide charitable, educational and benevolent support to the greater Westwood community. The Foundation has one principal mission: providing financial assistance and support to projects and endeavors that benefit the city of Westwood, the immediate surrounding area and, ultimately, the citizens of those communities. The short-term objectives of the Foundation are varied. These objectives range from land acquisition/development to providing revenue to the city of Westwood to offset unexpected expenses and offering educational scholarships to members of our community. Broadly, any financial obligation the Foundation selects to support aims to fulfill its principal mission.

Application for 2024 Westwood Foundation Merit Scholarship

One of the Westwood Foundation's goals is to help facilitate a bright future for the City of Westwood. A great way to achieve this is by investing in the education of our youngest residents. The Westwood Foundation Board of Directors is pleased to award a Westwood Foundation Merit Scholarship in 2024.

The awardee will receive \$5,000 per academic year for a total of four (4) years.

Applicants must meet the following qualifications:

- Westwood resident;
- A high school senior who plans to (and does) attend college during the 2024-2025 academic year and each year thereafter during the scholarship award period;
- Full-time enrollment status of twelve (12) or more credit hours during each semester (or equivalent) of the 2024-2025 academic year, and each year thereafter during the scholarship award period; and
- Maintain a GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Scholarship applications are available to download and can also be picked up at City Hall. All applications must be received by 5 pm on Friday, June 14, 2024. Late applications will not be accepted. If you have any questions, please contact Abby Schneweis at 913.362.1550 or abby.schneweis [at] westwoodks.org (by email).

Directors of the Westwood Foundation and their immediate families are not eligible for this scholarship program.

Foundation Scholarship Recipients

- 1988 Jennifer Blackwell
- 1989 Todd Schulkin
- 1990 Jennifer Johnson
- 1991 Shannon Martin
- 1992 Arnica Baldwin
- 1992 Jennifer Wichmann
- 1993 Jason Elk
- 1994 Sarah Mann
- 1995 Suzanne Decker
- 1996 Amanda Moorhouse
- 1997 Megan Kean
- 1998 Annie Sutera
- 1999 Brett Okken
- 1999 Luke Wetzel
- 2000 Janelle Decker
- 2001 Corey Owen Schulte
- 2002 Giang Pham
- 2002 Jessica Sullivan
- 2002 Edward Hanlon
- 2002 Brandi Biswell
- 2003 Jacquelynn Sullivan
- 2003 John Peter C. Wetzel
- 2003 Shoshanna Slotzkin
- 2004 Kyle Sciolaro
- 2005 Jared Sullivan
- 2006 Derek Low
- 2006 Peter Fields
- 2006 Victoria Shimanovich
- 2007 Cole Easterday
- 2007 Jessica Sullivan

- 2008 Sinon Bennett
- 2008 Angela Zahner Shipley
- 2009 Benjamin Donovan
- 2009 Jeffrey Benes
- 2010 Kevin Barclay
- 2010 Victoria Shimanovich
- 2010 Spencer Low
- 2010 Maria Reyes
- 2011 Andres Rodriguez-Burns
- 2011 Lisa Blanchard
- 2012 Jean Orr
- 2012 Nathan Ross
- 2013 Caitlin Beatty
- 2013 Crystal Hester
- 2016 Cassandra Roque
- 2017 Yashi Wang
- 2018 Loren Davis
- 2019 Jack Moren
- 2020 Alexandra Corbin
- 2021 Kolbe Benes

Westwood Foundation Members

- David E. Waters
- Lisa Cummins
- Lyle Niedens
- Sean O'Brien
- Kumud Pyakuryal
- Robert Thompson