About City of Westwood

Westwood City Hall

first-tier suburb of the greater Kansas City metropolitan area, the City of Westwood, Kansas was incorporated June 7, 1949 and is governed by a Mayor and five Council members. 

Westwood is both a residential community of approximately 1,700 people, and a city of business and commerce as it is home to several University of Kansas Hospital facilities including the The Richard and Annette Bloch Cancer Care Pavilion, and other corporate office and retail businesses.  

At just under one half-square mile of total land area in size, the city’s location at the far northeast corner of Johnson County, Kansas provides the combination of pleasant residential environment with ready access to the nearby Country Club Plaza area, downtown Kansas City, MissouriK.U. Medical Center, and other shopping and cultural opportunities elsewhere in the metropolitan region.

The City of Westwood borders the cities of Roeland ParkFairwayMission WoodsMission Hills, and Westwood Hills in Johnson County, the Unified Government of Wyandotte County / Kansas City, Kansas to the north, and Kansas City, Missouri to the east.

The City of Westwood provides police, public works, and building codes services on a contractual basis to the adjacent cities of Mission Woods and Westwood Hills.

Westwood City Hall is located at 4700 Rainbow Boulevard - the southwest corner of 47th Street and Rainbow Blvd. City Hall hours of operation are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.